Chorizo and Black Bean Chilaquiles

Hello and Happy Mother’s Day!  I didn’t make this brunch for my Mom but I sure wish she was here to try it. ❤

Some of my friends make fun of me for my love of Mexican food.  With a yummy recipe like this, I really don’t care.  Make fun of me all you want, but you WILL want to eat this too!

I adapted this recipe from Rachael Ray’s Texas Style Bacon, Beans and Eggs:  Black Bean Chilaquiles.  I would have followed her recipe to a “T” but (1) it feeds an army and it’s just the hubby and I, and (2) I had some ingredients I wanted to use up.  Here’s what I came up with!

  • 6 whole wheat flour tortillas, cut into 1″ strips
  • Vegetable oil cooking spray
  • 1 link Mexican chorizo (the raw kind that crumbles when sautéed)
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 large clove of garlic, minced
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes and salt to taste
  • 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 TBSP cumin
  • 1/2 TBSP chile powder
  • 1/2 cup Pace picante sauce, medium (sub. any salsa you like)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon powder
  • 2 TBSP fresh parsley, chopped (Cilantro would also work)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar and Manchego cheeses (1/2 cup of each, approximately – I didn’t measure!)
  • 4 eggs, cooked to your likeness*

*I recommend cooking the eggs over-easy or poached with a runny yolk.  The richness of the yolk goes well with the heat of the other ingredients.

Preheat the oven to 400℉.  Cut tortillas into strips and place on a cooling rack on top of a baking sheet. Spray them with cooking spray, bake 10-15 minutes or until the tortillas are browned and crispy.

In the meantime, preheat a large sauté pan over medium heat.  Sauté the chorizo until crumbled and browned.  Add the olive oil and onion, sauté for a few minutes.  Add garlic, red pepper flakes, and salt to taste.  Saute the mixture until the onions are soft.

Add black beans, cumin, chili powder and cook until the spices are fragrant, then add salsa, water, and bouillon.  Cook over medium heat for another minute or so until the mixture thickens.  Add extra salt and pepper if needed.  Pull off of the heat and stir in the fresh parsley.

When the tortilla strips are done, pull them out of the oven and put them into a 2 QT baking dish or split between four 10 oz ramekins.  I recommend Rachael Ray’s!  Pour black bean mixture over the tortillas, then top with cheese.  Pop into the oven to melt the cheese, about 5 minutes.

While the cheese is melting, cook the eggs to your liking. Pull the chilaquiles out of the oven and serve, topping each serving or ramekin with one egg.  Enjoy!!

Here’s what it looks like before the egg goes on top:

Leave a Reply

