Kick A$$ Marinara!

As an Irish girl raised on meat and potatoes, I have rarely come into contact with a good marinara sauce.  When I do, it intimates me.  Very much.  So much in fact that I embarrassingly use canned/jarred sauce. :-/

Well, I have to report that I am no longer afraid.  Canned/jarred sauce no more!  I found the easiest, most delicious marinara sauce recipe.  Thank you, Giada DeLaurentiis!

This recipe could get no easier, and from start to finish it only took an hour and some change.  Here’s her recipe.  I changed just a few things based on what I had on hand – very minor changes!

  • 2 (28 oz) cans of crushed tomatoes (I used Hunts)
  • 1 onion, peeled and halved
  • 2 ribs celery, halved
  • 2 carrots, halved
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
Combine crushed tomatoes, onion, celery, carrot, garlic, salt, pepper, and bay leaves in a large pot.  Bring to a simmer, then leave simmering over low heat for one hour or until sauce is thickened.  Remove the pot from the heat, remove all the cooked veggies, bay leaves, and add butter and basil.  If you’re serving immediately, add in the parmesan cheese.  If you’re saving it for later, cool the sauce and refrigerate.  Reheat the sauce over medium heat and add the parmesan cheese before serving.

We ate half the recipe for dinner with whole wheat spaghetti and the other half is being used later in the week for a burger recipe. Yes, burger…shameless Food Network chef promotion #2 – buy Rachael Ray’s Book of Burgers!

Another tip – after I pulled the garlic out of the sauce, I mashed it up with butter, olive oil, salt and pepper for some garlic bread.  Why waste it?  🙂

One thought on “Kick A$$ Marinara!

  1. Pingback: Meatball Hero Burgers « KristenAnne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

