Meatball Hero Burgers

First reason why you should buy Rachael Ray’s new cookbook, Book of Burger – these Meatball Hero Burgers!  TO DIE FOR!

Using the leftovers from Giada’s easy marinara sauce (see yesterday’s post), I whipped these up for dinner tonight.  I served them along side some waffle fries (sweet potato for me, regular for the hubby) and a small garden salad.  Yum!

I did make a few changes (I know, as usual) from her recipe but they were minor and I can only imagine following the original recipe ingredient for ingredient would have yielded an even better product.  That said – these were still delicious!  Oh, I also halved the recipe in case you were wondering.  Here’s what I did:

  • 1 lb 80/20 ground beef
  • 2 slices of wheat bread, crusts removed, soaked in milk and crumbled
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seed
  • 1/2 tsp ground sage
  • 1/2 tsp granulated onion
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 cloves of garlic, grated
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups leftover marinara (or make Rachael’s version in her recipe)
  • Shredded mozzarella
  • 4 Anzio Kaiser rolls

Pre-heat your oven to 325.

Combine first 12 ingredients in a large bowl, mix by hand until all of the ingredients are combined.  Using the side of your hand, score the meat into four equal sized portions.  Form patties and place on a non-stick baking sheet.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through.

In the meantime, re-heat your marinara (or make Rachael’s version) in a small pot on the stove over low heat.

Since I was also making fries, I jacked the oven up to 400 with about 5 minutes left on the patties so I could put those in.  Insert fries, remove patties.  Also put your rolls in the oven to toast.  I laid mine face down on the middle oven rack for 3-4 minutes until nice and toasted.

There was a lot of fat coming off of my patties so I drained them on a paper towel.  Blasphemous, I know!

Once your rolls are toasted, put a cooling rack on top of the same cooking sheet you just baked the patties on.  Put the bottom bun on first.  Dunk the patties into the marinara and then place on top of the bottom bun.  Add your mozzarella cheese, then place back in the oven. Turn the oven to broil to melt the cheese.  Remove fries!

This is what the patties look like broiled – YUM!!

Once they are broiled to perfection, take them out and plate.  Put more marinara sauce on, put the bun top in place, and ENJOY!


Leave a Reply

